Pakistan Affairs

(Pre- partition)

National Officers Academy, Islamabad

Ali Haider Chattha

OMG

48th CTP

Main areas

- Overview of Muslim Rule in sub-continent
- Movement for Independence
- Ideology of Pakistan and Personalities

Muslim Rule in Sub-continent

Muslim Rule In Sub-Continent

- Conquest of Sindh ---- in 712 AD
- Post Muhammad Bin Qasim--(715---1206 AD)
- Ghaznavid Dynasty -----(977---1186 AD)
- Ghurid Dynasty in Sub-continent---from 1192 AD

Delhi Sultanate (05 Dynasties)

- The Slave Dynasty -----(1206---1290 AD)
- The Khilji Dynasty -----(1290---1321 AD)
- The Tughlaq Dynasty -----(1321---1412 AD)
- The Sayyid Dynasty -----(1414---1451 AD)
- The Lodhi Dynasty -----(1451---1526 AD)
- The Mughal Dynasty -----(1526--- 1857 AD)
- Colonial Rule (British) -----(1857---1947 AD)

Muslim Rule In Sub-Continent

- Ist Conquest of Sub-continent was Sindh
- And Sindh was conquered by Muhammad Bin Qasim in 712 AD
- He conquered till Multan by 714 AD
- Muhammad bin Qasim stopped conquests in 715 because new Umayyad Caliph Sulaiman called him back.
- During Abbasid Caliphate, Its Caliphs did not take much interest in political affairs of Sindh Province.
- Independent rulers continued their rule till the Gaznavid Period.

Ghaznavid Rule (977---1186 AD)

- Ghaznavids were Turks.
- Were Gaurds of the Abbasis Caliphs.
- Initially Established their Empire at Ghazna.
- They were brave, dauntless and had qualities to build empires.
- They conquered the sub-continent which was left by Arabs to conquer.
- Mahmud Ghaznavi (997—1030 AD) very popular ruler.
- Made 17 invasions in India.

Ghurid Dynasty (from 1192 AD)

- Mu'izz ad-Din Muhammad Ghori معز الدین محمد غوری
 or Muhammad of Ghor, was Sultan of the Ghurid
 Empire.
- He defeated combined might of the Rajputs led by Pirthiviraj at the <u>Second battle of Tarain</u> in 1192.
- Thus, Muslim Rule in Sub-continent Started in 1192 AD.
- Mu'izz ad-Din was the great ruler of the Ghurid dynasty who laid the foundation of Muslim rule in sub-continent and south Asia which helped Muslims to rule for several centuries.
- His rule in South Asia spreads over parts of modernday Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Iran, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan.

Sultanate Period (1206—1526 AD)

- Five Dynasties Ruled from 1206 to 1526 AD and the rulers called them Sultans therefore it is called Sultanate Period.
- The Slave Dynasty -----(1206---1290 AD)
- The Khilji Dynasty -----(1290---1321 AD)
- The Tughlaq Dynasty -----(1321---1412 AD)
- The Sayyid Dynasty -----(1414---1451 AD)
- The Lodhi Dynasty -----(1451---1526 AD)

Slave(Mamluk) Dynasty (1206-1290 AD)

- Founded by Qutbuddin Aibak in 1206
- Qutub was a Turkic ex-slave (Mamluk) of the Ghurid Rule in India.
- Muhammad Ghori (Ghurid) died in 1206 without an heir.
- After a battle of succession, Qutub took possession of Muhammad Ghori's Indian empire.
- He established his capital first at Lahore, and later at Delhi.

Sultans of Slave Dynasty

- Qutub uddin Aibak
- Aram Shah
- 3) Iltutmish Shams ad Din
- Fîruz Shah I
- 5) Radiyya Begum / Razia
- Bahram Shah
- Allauddin Masud Shah
- Mahmud Shah I
- Ghiyasuddin Balban
- 10) Kay Qubadh / Kaiqubadh
- Kayumarth (Infant son: Controlled and quickly deposed by Jalaluddin Khilji).

Khilji Dynasty (1290—1321 AD)

- Founded by Jalaluddin Khilji
- Dynasty lived around 30 years
- short-lived Khilji dynasty ruled northern India and the <u>Deccan</u> from their capital at Delhi.
- Sultans Of Khilji Dynasty
 - Jalaluddin Firoz Khilji
 - Alauddin Khilji
 - Mubarak Shah

<u>Tughlaq Dynasty (1320—1414 AD)</u>

- سلسلہ تغلق •
- Dynasty was of <u>Turkic</u> origin.
- This Dynasty Ruled around 95 years

Sultans of Tughlaq Dynasty

- Ghiyath al-Din Tughluq
- Muhammad bin Tughluq
- Firuz Shah Tughlaq
- 4) Ghiyath-ud-din Tughluq Shah
- 5) Abu Bakr Shah
- Nasiruddin Muhammad Shah
- Alauddin Mahmud Shah
- Nusrat Shah (Few say: Nasiruddin Muhammad was a real Sultan)

Sayyid Dynasty (1414 – 1451 AD)

- Founded by Sayyid Khizr Khan
- Continued around 37 years

Sultans of Sayyid Dynasty

- 1) Khizr Khan
- 2) Mubark Shah
- 3) Muhammad Shah
- 4) Alam Shah

<u>Lodhi Dynasty (1451 – 1526 AD)</u>

- Bahlol Lodhi laid the foundation
- Lodhis were Afghans
- Rule continued around 75 years

Mughal Dynasty (1526—1857 AD)

غليم سلطنت

- Founded by <u>Zaheer -ud-Din Babur</u>
- He defeated "Ibrahim Lodi", (the last Sultan of Lodhi Dynasty in the "First Battle of Panipat" (1526).
- Total rulers of the dynasty are fifteen (15) Bahadur Shah being the last.
- Most of them were able "rulers, administrators, generals, builders, patrons of art & architecture".
- Great Rulers---Few Names----Are:
 - Zaheer Ud Din Babur
 - Akbar The Great
 - Shah Jahan
 - Aurangzeb etc.

The Birtish Raj (1857—1947 AD)

- East India Company in 1600 AD.
- British Rule In Sub-Continent.
- Defeat of Bahadur Shah Zafar, last Ruler of the Mughal Dynasty.
- War of Independence 1857 AD
- Due to his involvement in the War of Independence 1857, the British exiled him (Bahadur)to *Rangoon* in British-controlled *Burma*, after convicting him on conspiracy.

<u>Downfall of Muslim Rule</u> <u>In Sub-continent (1/3)</u>

- Weak Administration of Last Rulers of Mughal Empire.
- Rise of Maratha Empire (1674 to 1818).
- In 1761, Ahmad Shah Abdali (Durrani Empire) defeated the Maratha Army in the Third Battle of Panipat & resisted their expansion into Afghanistan.
- Aurangzeb's death (1707) started the downfall of the Mughal Empire.
- The Sikh Empire (1799–1849 AD)
- Fight Over Succession (جانشینی)

<u>Downfall of Muslim Rule</u> <u>In Sub-continent (2/3)</u>

- Advent of the **British** in Sub-continent.
- Incompetent Successors
- Fight Between Muslim Dynasties

- No Educational Efforts by Rulers like Abbassid Caliphate did in Baghdad.
- Huge Empires could not be administered efficiently by the incompetent Sultans/Rulers.

<u>Downfall of Muslim Rule</u> <u>In Sub-continent (3/3)</u>

- As Mughal Rulers did great work on Art, Architecture, forts, Parks, Mosques, buildings but did not establish educational Institutions.
- Bankruptcy of Morality amongst Rulers and subjects.
- Defeat at War of Independence 1857 AD.